1. Hokey Pokey (The Ice Cream Song) 

2. I'll Regret It All In The Morning 

3. Smiffy's Glass Eye 

4. The Egypt Room

5. Never Again 

6. Georgie On A Spree

7. Old Man Inside A Young Man 

8. The Sun Never Shines On The Poor 

9. A Heart Needs A Home 

10. Mole in A Hole

11. Wishing (BBC)

12. I'm Turning Off A Memory (BBC)

13. Heart Needs a Home (bbc session)

14. Hokey Pokey (live)

15. It'll Be Me (live)




with Linda Thompson


Updated: 6.20.04


current status: in-print in the U.K. (with bonus tracks);
out-of-print in the U.S.

re-issue: Hannibal Records LP, CGLP-4408, USA

re-issue: Hannibal Records CD, HNCD-4408, USA 

re-issue: Island Records c.d., IMCD-305, U.K., 2004


Tracks 1-10 as listed above comprise the "original" complete and proper version of "Hokey Pokey"


Bonus tracks on the 2004 Island U.K. c.d. re-issue: 

11. "Wishing" (BBC), 

12. "I'm Turning Off A Memory" (BBC), 

13. "A Heart Needs A Home" (BBC),

14. "Hokey Pokey" (live), 

15. "It'll Be Me" (live)


"Mole In A Hole" written by Mike Waterson

"Wishing" written by Buddy Holly/Bob Montgomery

"I'm Turning Off A Memory" written by Merle Haggard

"It'll Be Me" written by Jack Clement

All other songs written by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music


Produced by John Wood and Simon Nicol

Recorded at Sound Techniques, London

Engineered by John Wood


Richard Thompson: guitar, mandolin, electric dulcimer, hammered dulcimer, piano, vocals

Linda Thompson: vocals

Simon Nicol: guitar, piano, organ, electric 12-string guitar, autoharp, vocals

Timi Donald:drums, percussion

Pat Donaldson: bass

John Kirkpatrick: accordion

Aly Bain:fiddle

Sidonie Goossens: harp

Ian Whiteman: piano, flute organ (A Heart Needs A Home)

Thanks to a select few from the C.W.S. (Manchester) Silver Band


The first three Island-U.K. re-issue bonus tracks, "Wishing", "I'm Turning Off A Memory", and "A Heart needs A Home", are previously unreleased BBC recordings. They were recorded for the John Peel Show on February 11, 1975 at Maida Vale 4; producer: Tony Wilson; first broadcast: February 24, 1975.


The Island-U.K. re-issue bonus track live version of "Hokey Pokey" is previously unreleased and was recorded live at The Roundhouse, London, September 7, 1975 with John Kirkpatrick, button accordion; Pat Donaldson, bass; Dave Mattacks, drums.


"It'll Be Me" is previously released on (guitar, vocal) and was recorded live at Oxford Polytechnic on November 27, 1975 with the Island mobile recording truck (24-track) and mixed at Sound Techniques in February, 1976; recorded and mixed by John Wood; the band included John Kirkpatrick, button accordion; Dave Pegg, bass; Dave Mattacks, drums.