1. Restless Highway 

2. Sweet Surrender 

3. Don't Let a Thief Steal Into Your Heart 

4. The Choice Wife

5. Died for Love

6. Strange Affair

7. Layla

8. Pavanne

9. House of Cards

10. First Light



with Linda Thompson


current status: out-of-print

CHR-1177 UK

Re-issue: Hannibal Records l.p., CGLP-4412, USA

Re-issue: Chrysalis Records c.d., CCD-1177, UK

Re-issue: Hannibal Records c.d., HNCD-4412, U.S.A.


The Choice Wife traditional, arranged by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music.

Pavanne written by Richard and Linda Thompson and published by Beeswing Music. 

All other songs written by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music


Produced by John Wood and Richard Thompson for Jo Lustig Ltd.

Recorded at Brittania Row, Olympic Chelsea (formerly Sound Techniques), and Basing Street Studios. 

Engineered by John Wood assisted by Jerry Wing and Andy Lunn.


Richard Thompson: vocals, guitar, mandolin, hammered dulcimer, Roland guitar synthesizer, whistle

Linda Thompson: vocals

Andy Newmark: drums

Willie Weeks: bass

Neil Larson: keyboards

Simon Nicol: guitar, dulcimer

Chris Karen: percussion

Dave Mattacks: percussion

Dolores Keane: whistle

John Kirkpatrick: button accordion

Background vocals: Dave Brady, Heather Brady, Dave Burland, Bill Caddick, Philippa Clare, Julie Covington, Andy Fairweather-Lowe, Trevor Lucas, Iain Matthews, Maddy Prior, Peta Webb


Strings transcribed and conducted by Robert Kirby