1. A Bone Through Her Nose

2. Valerie

3. Missie How You Let Me Down

4. Dead Man's Handle

5. Long Dead Love

6. Lover's Lane

7. Nearly In Love

8. Jennie

9. Baby Talk

10. Cash Down Never Never

11. How Will I Ever Be Simple Again

12. Al Bowlly's In Heaven



current status: in-print in the U.K. on BGO Records; out-of-print in the U.S.

Buy from Amazon.com


Polydor Records CD, 829-728-2, U.S.A.
re-issue: BGO Records CD, BGO 138, U.K.

All songs written by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music

Produced by Mitchell Froom

Recorded at Sunset Sound, Sunset Sound Factory, Town House, Three and Larrabee Studios

Recording engineers: Larry Hirsch, Tchad Blake, and Dennis Kirk

Mixed by Neil Dorfsman

Digital editing: Larry Walsh

Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York by Greg Calbi


Richard Thompson: guitar, mandolin, hammered dulcimer, theramin, vocals

Mitchell Froom: Hammond organ, piano, emulator, theramin

Jerry Scheff: electric bass, string bass

Mickey Curry: drums

Jim Keltner: drums on Missie How You Let Me Down, Lovers' Lane, and Al Bowlly's In Heaven

Alex Acuna: percussion

John Kirkpatrick: accordion, concertina

Chuck Fleming: fiddle

Philip Pickett: Chinese shawm, shawm, symphony, recorder

Clive Gregson: backing vocals

Christine Collister: backing vocals

Brian Taylor: cornet

Tony Goddard: cornet

David Horn: tenor horn

Brian Taylor, Tony Goddard, and David Horn courtesy of Fairey Engineering Band

Ian Peters: Euphonium