1. Wings ' la Mode

2. Killerman Gold Posse

3. Where's The Money?

4. Hai Sai Oji-San

5. Drowned Dog Black Night

6. Surfin' USA

7. DrumBo ogie

8. A Blind Step Away

9. The Second Time

10. Tir-Nan-Darag

11. Disposable Thoughts

12. Bird In God's Garden/Lost and Found

13. The Same Thing

14. Night Comes In 

15. Invisible Means

16. Quick Sign/Suzanne

17. The Madness Of Love



Updated: 2.26.08

John French/Fred Frith/Henry Kaiser/Richard Thompson


current status: out-of-print in the U.S.; in-print in the U.K. on Fledg'ling Records

Buy from Amazon.com


Rhino Records c.d., RNCD-70831, U.S.A. [including two extra tracks: "DrumBo ogie" and "The Same Thing]

Demon Records c.d., FIEND-CD-102, U.K. [though unlisted, this includes the same extra tracks as the U.S. c.d.]

re-issue: Shanachie Records c.d., 5711, U.S.A. (also includes the same two extra tracks)

re-issue: Edsel Records c.d., DIAB-8038, U.K.

re-issue: Fledg'ling Records c.d., FLED-3067, U.K. [including the original two extra cd tracks: "DrumBo ogie" and "The Same Thing" and also adding four extra live bonus tracks, "Night Comes In", "Invisible Means", "Quick Sign/Suzanne", and "Madness Of Love"] The Bees Knees


Killerman Gold Posse, Drowned Dog Black Night, A Blind Step Away, Night Comes In, and Madness Of Love written by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music

Tir-Nan-Darag written by Henry Kaiser/Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music

Wings a la Mode written by Adams-French

Where's The Money?, Lost And Found, and Quick Sign written by Fred Frith

Hai Sai Oji-San written by Shoukichi Kina

Surfin' USA written by Chuck Berry

The Second Time written by John French/Fred Frith

Disposable Thoughts, DrumBo ogie, Invisible Means, and Suzanne written by John French

Bird in God's Garden written by Hakim Conrad Archuletta

The Same Thing written by Willie Dixon


The original Rhino cd track order inserted the first bonus track, DrumBo ogie, to be following Surfin' USA and the second bonus track, The Same Thing, as the final track. The Shanachie and Fledg'ling c.d. re-issues maintain the original vinyl l.p. track order and add DrumBo ogie and The Same Thing to follow the original vinyl last track, Bird in God's Garden/Lost and Found; while the Fledg'ling cd adds its four additional live bonus tracks at the end following The Same Thing.


Produced by Henry Kaiser

Recorded March 1987, Mobius Music, San Francisco

Engineer: Oliver Di Cicco

Assistant engineer: Kay Hopper

Mixing: Oliver DiCicco + Fred Frith + Henry Kaiser

Mastering: Phil Brown

Shanachie c.d. remastered in 1996 by Paul Stubblebine at The Rocket Lab

Night Comes In, Invisible Means, Quick Sign/Suzanne, and Madness Of Love recorded live at The Ashkenaz, Berkeley, California and are previously unreleased.


John French: drums, vocals

Fred Frith: bass, violin, vocals

Henry Kaiser: guitar, sanshin

Richard Thompson: guitar, vocals


Hai Sai Oji-San is sung in the Okinawan language.

Fred Frith plays the second of the three guitar solos in the middle section of Tir-Nan-Darag.