1. Read About Love

2. I Feel So Good

3. I Misunderstood

4. Grey Walls

5. You Dream Too Much

6. Why Must I Plead

7. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning

8. Backlash Love Affair

9. Mystery Wind

10. Don't Sit On My Jimmy Shands

11. Keep Your Distance

12. Mother Knows Best

13. God Loves A Drunk

14. Psycho Street



current status: in-print


Order from Amazon.com


Capitol Records CD, CDP-7-95713-2, USA
EMI-Capitol DVD-Audio, 72434-77932-9-5
(This DVD-Audio release includes as a bonus feature videos for
I Feel So Goodand I Misunderstood.)
High Fidelity Review

All songs written by Richard Thompson and published by Beeswing Music


Produced by Mitchell Froom

Recorded at Sunset Sound Factory, Los Angeles

Recording engineer: Dave Leonard; 2nd engineer: Mike Kloster

Overdubs recorded by Lance Phillips, Rak Studios, London and by Tchad Blake, Sunset Sound Factory

Mixed by Tchad Blake, Ocean Way Studios, Los Angeles; 2nd engineer: Paula "Max" Garcia

Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Masterdisk


Richard Thompson: guitars, mandolin, hurdy-gurdy

Mitchell Froom: piano, Hammond organ, portative organ, chamberlin, celeste, clavioline, echo harp

Jim Keltner: drums

Mickey Curry: drums on Read About Love, I Feel So Good, You Dream Too Much, Backlash Love

Affair, Mystery Wind, and Keep Your Distance

Alex Acu;a: percussion

Jerry Scheff: bass

Simon Nicol: guitar

Philip Pickett: shawm, curtal, crumhorn

John Kirkpatrick: accordion, concertina

Aly Bain: fiddle

Clive Gregson: vocals

Christine Collister: vocals