1. A Man In Need

2. Can't Win

3. Waltzing's For Dreamers

4. Crash The Party

5. I Still Dream

6. Bird In God's Garden/Lost and Found

7. Now Be Thankful

8. A Sailor's Life

9. Genesis Hall

10. The Knife-Edge

11. Walking On A Wire

12. Small Town Romance 

13. The Shepherd's March/Maggie Cameron

14. Wall Of Death

15. For Shame Of Doing Wrong 

16. Back Street Slide

17. Strange Affair

18. The Wrong Heartbeat 

19. Borrowed Time

20. From Galway To Graceland

21. Tear Stained Letter

22. Keep Your Distance

23. Bogie's Bonnie Belle

24. Poor Wee Jockey Clark

25. Jet Plane In A Rocking Chair 

26. Dimming Of The Day 

27. Old Man Inside A Young Man 

28. Never Again 

29. Hokey Pokey (The Ice Cream Song) 

30. A Heart Needs A Home 

31. Beat the Retreat 

32. Al Bowlly's In Heaven

33. Walking Through A Wasted Land

34. When The Spell Is Broken

35. Devonside

36. Little Blue Number

37. I Ain't Going To Drag My Feet No More

38. Withered And Died 

39. Nobody's Wedding

40. The Poor Ditching Boy

41. The Great Valerio 

42. Twisted

43. The Calvary Cross

44. Jennie

45. The Hand Of Kindness 

46. Two Left Feet 

47. Shoot Out The Lights




The History Of Richard Thompson.

Retrospective 3 CD set.,


current status: in-print


Order from Amazon.com


CD, HNCD-5303

Disc A

A Man in Need

1987 - 1988: Can't Win live (remix), Waltzing's for Dreamers, Crash The Party (live), I Still Dream, Bird In God's Garden/Lost And Found (French, Frith, Kaiser, Thompson)

1969 - 1970: 

Now Be Thankful Fairport Convention (remix), A Sailor's Life (Fairport Convention), Genesis Hall (Fairport Convention)

1981 - 1982: The Knife-Edge, Walking On A Wire (Richard & Linda Thompson), Small Town Romance (live), Shepherd's March/Maggie Cameron (live), Wall Of Death (Richard & Linda Thompson)


Disc B

1978 - 1980: For Shame Of Doing Wrong (Richard & Linda Thompson), Back Street Slide (Richard & Linda Thompson), Strange Affair (Richard & Linda Thompson), The Wrong Heartbeat (Richard & Linda Thompson), Borrowed Time (Richard & Linda Thompson)

1990 - 1992: From Galway To Graceland (live), Tear Stained Letter (live), Keep Your Distance, Bogie's Bonnie Belle (live), Poor Wee Jockey Clarke

1974 - 1975: Jet Plane In A Rocking Chair (Richard & Linda Thompson), Dimming Of The Day (Richard & Linda Thompson), Old Man Inside A Young Man (Richard & Linda Thompson), Never Again (Richard & Linda Thompson) Hokey Pokey, The Ice Cream Song (Richard & Linda Thompson), A Heart Needs A Home (Richard & Linda Thompson live), Beat The Retreat (remix)


Disc C

1985 - 1986: Al Bowlly's In Heaven (live), Walking Through A Wasted Land, When The Spell Is Broken (live), Devonside (live), Little Blue Number (live), I Ain't Going To Drag My Feet No More (live)

1972 - 1973: Withered And Died (Richard & Linda Thompson) Nobody's Wedding, The Poor Ditching Boy, The Great Valerio (Richard & Linda Thompson) Twisted

1983 - 1984: Calvary Cross (live), Jennie (live), Hand Of Kindness, Two Left Feet, Shoot Out The Lights (live)


Compilation produced by Edward Haber

All songs originating with Island Records (except A Sailor's Life, Now Be Thankful, and Beat The Retreat) mastered under the supervision of John Wood at The Hit Factory, London, February 1993- mastering engineer: Tim Young

Devonside mastered at Sterling Sound, New York September 1986-mastering engineer: Jack Skinner

All other songs mastered at Northeastern Digital, Inc., Southborough, Massachusetts, February 1993-mastering engineer: Dr. Toby Mountain

Additional mastering engineers: Mark Chalecki (Capitol Records), Joseph Palmaccio (PolyGram Records), and Dan Hersch (Digi Prep for Rhino Records)

Original mastering engineers: Bob Ludwig at Masterdisk (Capitol Records) and Phil Brown (Rhino Records)